PDA

View Full Version : Review Question: Paying for ADR Overseas

Harrison
07-05-2013, 10:14 PM
People, how are you paying for surgery overseas these days?

- wiring partial down payments
- wiring partial+ payments
- wiring full payments

or using credit cards with similar options?

I am not liking what I am hearing about the amounts that have to be paid pre-operatively. I am not liking what I am hearing about the amounts that have to be paid for correcting post-op complications. And I am especially concerned with patients that are ignored by surgeons with complex post-op complications. Why should a patient have to spend hours -- making 20-30 calls to Dr Clavel -- to give him more money to correct his mistakes?!

Then again, I've been saying this kind of thing since 2004. And I am sorry to say, the common thread is Stenum. :puke: That's the first time I used that emoticon, and it's perfect.

From the next topic, an all-too-common complaint:

"...What isn't okay, is Post-op forum members who are not getting their questions or concerns answered by Clavel or his staff..."

mary2013
07-06-2013, 10:28 AM
I wired in full for Clavel, but that was my choice. I believe they require 65% of payment 10 days prior to surgery. I tried for credit card, but was told that they do not take credit cards except for small balances when in Barcelona.

LauraB
07-06-2013, 03:24 PM
This practice has me seriously concerned. What kind of expense is incurred on the surgeon's end prior to surgery - other than review of medical data. I can't comprehend the purpose of prepaying more than 25%. What is the payment practice for surgeon's, outside of the Stenum affiliation? I am all too familiar with this practice when dealing with Cancer patients (my brother, father, and husband- God Rest their Souls).