ADRSupport Community

ADRSupport Community (https://www.adrsupport.org/forums/index.php)
-   The Big File (https://www.adrsupport.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=44)
-   -   Federal Blue Cross Blue Shield (https://www.adrsupport.org/forums/showthread.php?t=6900)

misty 04-01-2005 12:41 AM

Hi guys,

I realize that this may not be an entirely new topic, as this is my first time on this site, hopefully you can tolerate my ignorance http://adrsupport.org/groupee_common...icon_smile.gif I'm trying to help my husband make a decision about his herniated discs.

I have noticed lots of conversation about insurance coverage with Blue Cross Blue Shield. I haven't seen any mention of Federal BCBS, so I'm not sure that there is any difference between federal coverage and basic coverage. Does anyone know what difference this might make?

I called BCBS in Washington DC and they said that they handle all of the overseas claims. They also told me that any doctor overseas would automatically be considered a preferred provider, and that the ADR procedure (or any other procedure that is medically necessary) was guaranteed to be handled as if you were stateside. (She said that the only way that they would not pay as usual is if a procedure is strictly cosmetic, which of course this is nothttp://adrsupport.org/groupee_common...icon_smile.gif The one exception to the preferred provider coverage was that since they do not contract with Stenum Hospital in Germany, if the amounts that the hospital bills is above what is "usual and customary" I would be required to pay the difference. (Whereas in the US the provider just writes off the difference and I'm not responsible for it.)