ADRSupport Community  

Go Back   ADRSupport Community > General Discussion > New Member Introductions

New Member Introductions If you just joined, please introduce yourself here. Please add a signature describing your spinal history (use the "User CP) and ask us how we can help you get started.

Old 02-26-2013, 10:34 PM

Default Herniated disk: Lost and scared

Im Robert easy enough. Im 29, married with two kids under 4.
March of 2012 diagnosed with herniated disk L5-S1 to the left side.
2 injections pain free.
July 7 hurt the same disk again. I was getting better with time until the PT decided to rip me in half almost. I don't remember what the procedure was but could barley move afterward. And I have been on a downward spiral.
Spine surgeon at Indy Spine Group wants to do fusion but I have to loose +80 pounds first. I was a truck driver and obviously gained weight. I am working on loosing weight, just hard when you can barley walk a block.
I am seriously looking into ADR done by Dr. Ritter-Lang in Germany. I am getting my stuff together to send over to him to look at. My spine doc doesn't think its a good idea. In fact stated that ADR was not approved in the U.S. for Lumbar. I really just don't know which way to go. If I go ADR I will probably loose my job due to being released MMI. I don't and am not planning on going back to driving, just tired of missing my family, but my family needs health insurance. Both kids were born early one 9 weeks the other 4 weeks so they catch everything.
Old 02-26-2013, 10:50 PM

Lumber is approved in US for more than one level but insurance companies will only approve coverage for one level.
Read this thread for information about Dr. Ritter Lang:

http://www.adrsupport.org/forums/f58...y-april-12014/

Take the time to research and talk to doctors that perform adr surgeries before letting someone who does not perform them tell you it will not work!