ADRSupport Community  

Go Back   ADRSupport Community > General Discussion > The Big File

The Big File All issues not easily categorized in the above forums are here. Comments on general health, diet, "getting comfortable," and more are here.

Old 11-10-2005, 02:54 PM

Hi Everyone,

Am new "member" to the Forum but not new to the topic.
Need help in finding out what Disc to go for. Had a previous Laminectomy/Discectomy L4/L5/S1 8 yrs ago.
Recently involved in a MVA (May 05). Has deteriorated since. Live in Toronto/Canada. Have found 2 docs who would perform the surgery.
1 uses ONLY Maverick. The other one Pro-Disc.
Any difference? Can anyone guide me on this?

Thks
Old 11-10-2005, 03:42 PM

Hi Rosie,

Welcome to the group, I am no expert just a proud ProDisc owner and very happy with my new life.

The big difference is the maverick is metal on metal and the ProDisc is metal on plastic. Some would argue that all medal is not good for your system but the info on that is not fully known.

The maverick keel was redesigned the original was too big and had split some vertebra. Personally I like the success that has come with the ProDisc this is a difficult decision and others here may be able to fill you in more.

Welcome and keep us posted on your progress towards a pain free life.
T-12 Compression Fracture 10/04
C-7 Spines Process Fracture 5/99
http://prodisc2.blogspot.com/
You are my Rock God in you I can do anything
Old 11-10-2005, 03:53 PM

Hi Rosie,
well I think Pauletteski has covered the ground quite admirably. Both the maverick and the pro disc have keels, the pro disc has a plastic disc between the plates and the maverick does not but is metal to metal. At this juncture in time, there really has been nothing to choose between the two. We have a surgeon in the UK who uses the maverick more frequently when people have what is called retrolythesis.
Best
Alastair
http://www.adrsupport.org/alastair.html
Thank goodness for Dr Zeegers I am painfree