ADRSupport Community  

Go Back   ADRSupport Community > General Discussion > The Big File

The Big File All issues not easily categorized in the above forums are here. Comments on general health, diet, "getting comfortable," and more are here.

Old 08-23-2009, 04:21 AM

Default Appropriate recovery time before return to work?

All,

I am having cervical ADR with Dr. B next month in Bogen. I work as a management consultant (lots of time behind the computer and a fair amount of air travel). What is a reasonable expectation for being able to return back to work for this type of a job from this type of surgery? About 6 weeks?

I am an otherwise healthy 35 y/o male in decent physical condition.

Matt

+ 2 level ADR with Prodisc-C (Nova) performed on 10 Sep 09 (C4-C5 and C5-C6)
+ Surgeon: Dr. Bertagnoli, Hospital: Bogen KKH
+ Patient advocate: Tim Vicknair, European Medical Tourist

+ Previous failed treatments : 6 months PT, chiroprachtic care, and 2 epidural steroid injections
Old 08-23-2009, 09:47 PM

I know a couple of people who had cervical ADR. It all depends. One was riding a thousand miles on her bike at age 60, 8 weeks after surgery. Everyone is different. I'd say you 'd be ok and may need some pain meds.

Mark
Multiple facet blocks and epidurals
L5-S1 annular tear 8-08 lased with ELD
October 08 back to work
Old 08-23-2009, 09:55 PM
Administrator

Default Cervical Recovery

Hey Matt,

Cervical patients generally recover more quickly than lumbar patients for a long list of reasons. Actually, Dr. B's staff can answer this question quite well. Be sure to ask them this question and get back to us. Who took Alphons' place? Ask them please?!

BTW: this column is almost three years old, but do take a look: Q & A with ProSpine PhysioTherapist on Recovery