ADRSupport Community  

Go Back   ADRSupport Community > General Discussion > International Assistance

International Assistance Any topics relating to traveling or communicating with international treatment locations are here.

Old 06-05-2013, 09:10 PM

Default AHA! Dr. Pimenta, AIMIS, Nuvasive, Oh My!

I had hoped to use my time today to post an update on my progress, but I found out some information about Dr. Pimenta that I think is more important for everyone here to know than how I am doing today. In fact, I think the sharing of this information is urgent.

When I was considering going with AIMIS, while I was visiting my local AIMIS doc (Dr. Coe) his wife Marlene (whom I ADORED, BTW - very sweet woman) and I got to talking. She found out that I was a Mixed Martial Artist (MMA), and that my goal was to be able to compete again. (I promise this has EVERYTHING to do with Dr. Pimenta, just be patient.) She told me that Dr. Coe had performed surgery on Nate "Rock" Quarry, who was a UFC fighter, who ended up being able to fight again after surgery. She said she would give him a call and tell him about me because she would imagine he would want to talk to me given our mutual love of MMA. She then gave me a copy of "his book" The Better Way Back, which I thought was totally sweet at the time to give me the book free of charge.

I spoke to Nate about a week later. He was just about the sweetest, most supportive person you could want to talk to. He wanted to make sure I got a copy of the book, and I said yes I had, but since I was in the middle of a move, I had misplaced it. So, long story short, I never read "his" book. (I can't recall if he called it that, he might not have, so I want to be clear that I don't recall if Nate referred to it as that or not - but my AIMIS affiliates DID.) I have also been in email contact with Nate since the surgery - again, very sweet, very supportive.