ADRSupport Community  

Go Back   ADRSupport Community > General Discussion > New Member Introductions

New Member Introductions If you just joined, please introduce yourself here. Please add a signature describing your spinal history (use the "User CP) and ask us how we can help you get started.

Old 01-07-2013, 12:13 AM

Default Does a wait and see approach hurt ?

Hi all.

I am a newie so forgive me for asking. Does a wait a see approach further damage your disks? I think my symptoms and pain is worse .does that mean my disks are? Most people say about 95 percent of disks heal. Can mine?
Cervical compression with clinical myelopathy with Hoffman's
Tests; MRI's, EMG/NC studies, discogram, CT scan
Pain management; tens unit, ice and heat, physical therapy, chiropratic care, and spinal epidural treatments.
Blue Cross / Blue Shield of Ohio external third party approved Pro-C ADR at C 5-6 on 4/3/13
Old 01-09-2013, 02:49 PM

I am not a doctor but the general consensus is to give 6 months of conservative treatment a chance before even considering surgery. Now to answer your question yes waiting can hurt if you wait too long I.e. you can get sciatic nerve damage, facet problems etc., but that is if you wait quite a long time usually (longer than 6 months most likely). There is no way to tell if your disc will heal on its own besides doing the conservative treatments and seeing what happens unfortunately.
2009 - Trampoline injury (just bounced down on my butt)
2009-2011 Physiotherapy and medication, progress but no lasting pain relief
2010 - X-Ray DDD L5-S1, L4-L5, L4-L3
2010 - MRI Herniation L5-S1, Bulges L4-L5, L4-L3
2011 - Epidurals - No relief
2012 - Facet Injections - No relief
2012 - Discogram TBI - positive L3-S1

L3-S1 ADR M6-L w Clavel 11/28/2012
Old 01-09-2013, 11:31 PM