PDA

View Full Version : Anyone with approval letters available?

Diane
10-08-2007, 02:32 PM
I am an insurance agent (kinda like a "warrior-in-training") who is working to MAKE the insurance company pay for my client's ADR with the new Prestige device.

Is anyone willing to fax me their approval letters from their insurance companies to assist me with "Precedent Data"?

(608) 356-9785 fax

Thanks so much!

sahuaro
10-08-2007, 04:27 PM
I am dealing with the same issues (see my post re insurance and cervical ADR). Would you mind sharing information as to which insurance company you are dealing with and whether they have already sent a denial?

Diane
10-09-2007, 03:02 AM
My client is insured by Midwest Security, which is a medium-sized regional health insurance company owned by UHC, who seems to be notoriously unreasonable with this issue. Surgery is scheduled for Thursday, and our attempts to precertify benefits has resulted in a resounding NO from the review personnel as the therapy is "unproven". I am determined to get this covered for my client! I know that approval letters from other insurance companies (or even--dare I hope--UHC) would be of utmost help as I work through the appeal process.

Thanks for any help that anyone can offer!

Harrison
10-09-2007, 01:58 PM
Diane, it may be tedious, but sift through this forum manually (see the page #s in the upper right?). There are many years of posts (The Big File has 2006 & earlier) and some patients have succeeded in reversing a decision. When you find someone via their post, email or PM them and ask them for their appeal.

And very few people will appeal to the state agencies (e.g. office of patient protection), where their appeal will be heard by a third party reviewed.

Email or PM me, and I will send you a template that has been useful. Also, you need to be mindful of the bibliography that is used to reference/support efficacy. E.g., a good one is found on the charitedisc.com site.

LBP
10-09-2007, 09:18 PM